The Franciscan Center is located on eight acres along the eastern banks of the Hillsborough River.  The Center came to fruition as a result of the spiritually unique mission of the Franciscan Sisters of Allegany, N.Y. In the spirit of St. Francis of Assisi, we welcome everyone who seeks spiritual growth through a deeper relationship with God in a place of peace, community, healing and joy.

Reverend Mother Joan Marie Wheeler, OSF received the deed for the property in 1958 from Joseph E. Miyares, a Tampa attorney. The Provincial of Florida, Sister Lucian Walsh, OSF, requested that a retreat center be built. Sr. Lucian wanted this retreat center to be ecumenical in nature so all people of different faith traditions could make retreats at the Center. We opened in October of 1970 and became the first spiritual center owned and operated by the Congregation of the Franciscan Sisters of Allegany, N.Y.  Since then thousands of people have come to this sanctuary for private reflection, retreats, spiritual direction and hospitality.

The Center is a non- profit, 501(3)(c), private retreat house sponsored by the Franciscan Sisters of Allegany, NY with dedicated laity who are committed in carrying out the mission. Throughout the year we offer retreat programs (including private and directed retreats), and a place for community and private events, meetings, seminars, workshops and classes.

Book your tickets